Penguin Random House Canada Student Award For Fiction

This award is exclusively for fiction, either in the form of a short story or a novel excerpt. The competition for this award is open to all creative writing students who have taken a course in the previous year. One winner will receive a prize of $2,500 annually. Two finalists will also be selected and will receive prizes of $100 each. The winner and finalists will be published in a chapbook.

Download application form

The application period for 2020 is now closed. The winners of this award will be announced in September, 2020.


  • Kimberley Alcock (winner)
  • Rajinderpal Pal (runner-up)
  • Chris Pickrell (runner-up)


  • Leslie Carlin (Winner)
  • Diana Catargiu (Runner Up)
  • Stephanie Mark (Runner Up)


  • Corinne Clark (Winner)
  • Gwyn MacKenzie (Runner Up)
  • Natalie Zdaniuk (Runner Up)


  • Noriko Hoshino (Winner)
  • Catherine Campbell (Runner Up)
  • Audrey Francis Plante (Runner Up)


  • Donna Tranquada (Winner)