Instructor Awards and Recognition


Each year, the School of Continuing Studies (SCS) invites learners who registered for one or more courses during the past 12 months to nominate an instructor they believe embodies and demonstrates excellence in teaching.

Through the Excellence in Teaching Awards, SCS recognizes members of our instructor community for their outstanding contributions to learner-focused continuing education. These awards are an opportunity to share our values with our learners and to ensure they understand our commitment to excellence.

In 2017, the Excellence in Teaching Awards were refreshed to reflect the changing nature of lifelong learning.

Three new awards were added, including an Excellence in Online Teaching Award, Career Impact Award, and Outstanding New Instructor Award.


Arts & Science

Carolyn Harris

Business & Professional Studies

Georgina Cannon
Tim Fong
Jason Yarmolinsky

Creative Writing

Martha Batiz

Languages & Translation

Nadine Atwi
Lorenzo Sclocco

Excellence in Online Teaching Award

Soonae Bac

Career Impact Award

Nadine Atwi

Outstanding NEW Instructor Award

Frank Suarez-Milan

Sign up with us for the latest news

Let's stay in touch! Subscribe to receive email updates about free resources, news, upcoming courses and certificates, and more!