Welcome to the School of Continuing Studies. For accessibility reasons, the following hot keys can be used on this website.

Using access keys varies depending on the browser you use. On the Windows operating system, using Internet Explorer, the ALT key is the trigger, then press the number associated with what section you want to get to (ie. Course Search would be [ALT + 2]).

  1. Accessibility Features
  2. Home
  3. Course Search
  4. Programs
  5. Registration
  6. About Us
  7. Contact Us
  8. Student Login
  9. Link to Home
Font Changer

School of Continuing Studies | University of Toronto

Celebrating the 10th Anniversary of the Random House Award

Lee Gowan, Lana Pesch, Anne Collins (VP, Random House of Canada)

On Thursday, November 22, the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (SCS) hosted a reception to celebrate the winner and finalists of the 10th annual Random House of Canada Student Award in Writing.

SCS Creative Writing student, Lana Pesch, won for her short story Let Me Call You Lovely. Robert Delaney and Derek Mascarenhas were named the two runners-up for Route 1 to China and So Far Away respectively. These three works have been collected in the chapbook THREE; a complete list of finalists can be found here.

The School of Continuing Studies is immensely grateful for Random House of Canada’s renewed commitment to emerging writers – this year they doubled the award’s endowment, allow the prize money and number of awards to increase moving forward.

“Random House of Canada’s continued commitment to emerging Canadian writers not only enables a larger tangible benefit to our students, it signals a new standard within the awards community,” said Lee Gowan, Head of the Creative Writing Program.

The Random House of Canada Student Award in Writing is a coveted prize within the SCS student populace. Each year SCS receives approximately 100 submissions. More than a dozen finalists have gone on to be published including 2004 finalist Marina Nemat – now an internationally bestselling author – and 2009 winner Anne Perdue, whose published collection of short fiction received critical acclaim.